News:

If you have difficulty registering for an account on the forum please email antespam@gmail.com. In the question regarding the composer use just the surname, not including forenames Charles-Marie.

Main Menu

BILSTON TOWN HALL

Started by barniclecompton, June 23, 2010, 06:02:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

barniclecompton

N/A

David Pinnegar

Hi!

Thanks for posting this! Does this instrument have some of those Compton "synthetic stops" which are referred to on posts elsewhere? I seem to recall that Percy Vickery on one of the EOCS CDs talks about such stops on Wurlitzers in his introduction to registration and the cinema organ . . .

I hope people are supporting these tea-dances. . . .

Best wishes

David P

dragonser

Hi,
please to see a picture of the Compton console !
I just looked at the npor to see if there was any info listed ( as a beginner I'm curious about what names all the stops are ! ) but there doesn't seem to be anything mentioned about the Bilston town hall. ( npor = national pipe organ register ).
would be great if anyone had the time to email the npor with the updated details.

regards Peter B

revtonynewnham

Hi

The Theatre Organ World list (dating from the 1970's) shows the Lyric Wellingborough Compton as having 5 ranks plus Melotone, and an illuminated console.

Please do send the details to NPOR (along with the previous locations of the organ).  We're aware that there are not many Theatre organs listed on NPOR as yet.  At some point, I want to have a blitz on them - but it can be a very time consuming business trying to trace address details for closed cinemas, and trying to find where organs have been (and what ranks, etc have been changed) - the last couple that I dealt with took me about 4 hours each - and still don't have complete info on movements.

At present, NPOR has a backlog of around 6-7 months of routine updates, and pretty well all extra projects are on hold until we get this down to manageable proportions.