News:

If you have difficulty registering for an account on the forum please email antespam@gmail.com. In the question regarding the composer use just the surname, not including forenames Charles-Marie.

Main Menu

Ritual, yes, and necessary for ritual, but so much more

Started by Max PB, September 26, 2012, 09:11:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David Drinkell

Hear! Hear! or Amen to jwillans.

Tony's post said nothing to denigrate the organ, but pointed out that there can be, in certain situations, other options.  That some clergy take a more destructive view is unfortunate, but cannot be used as a criticism of Tony.

revtonynewnham

Hi Paul

Maybe you'd actually take the time to read my post before making unjustified comments!  I've been playing organ in church for over 50 years - and I certain don't denigrate the instrument.  In fact, in my last church, I initiated fundraising to have our pipe organ restored by Willis.  I've also advised manyother churches to retain & use their organs!

Yes, I do think that there's room for other musical styles in church, and the organ hasn't always been the first choice.  I also commented on using organ with other instruments - and what is wrong with that?

Every Blessing

Tony

Paul Duffy

I already knew about your background before I posted, Tony. I don't believe you can safeguard the pipe organ by encouraging the use of other instruments because at some point the cost of maintenance will be called into question. There is an oft-repeated myth that there is a shortage of organists. There isn't. There are plenty of people on the organ tutoring programme of Liverpool Cathedral for example. But they don't want to be church organists. Why is that?