News:

If you have difficulty registering for an account on the forum please email antespam@gmail.com. In the question regarding the composer use just the surname, not including forenames Charles-Marie.

Main Menu

Just discovered/Not played enough

Started by David Drinkell, August 11, 2015, 02:57:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David Drinkell

Just discovered - Cat Suite by Denis Bedard.  Well-written, not too difficult (although the last movement is unbelievably fast) and tastefully humorous.

Not played enough - the Hindemith Sonatas.

I have quite a lot of Rheinberger, acquired over the years, but I don't play much except for the Introduction and Passacaglia and the D flat sonata (learned with Garth Benson back in the seventies when I was a student).  Any recommendations?

Nicolette

Not played enough - Lamentation in c minor    Guilmant  (short and heart-rending: great for Lent/Good Friday)

Nicolette Fraser, B. Mus., ARCO

David Drinkell

Thanks, Nicola - I'll use that one.

I recently unearthed a piece which I'd forgotten but which I think is a gem: George Towers' Prelude on "Dafydd ap carreg wen", or "David of the White Rock".  It was originally published by Oecumuse, but was taken over by Fagus (www.fagus-music.com).  Something in the style of Whitlock's "Folk Tune" but a little easier to play.  The tune is gorgeous anyway, but the interludes are very well done and altogether, it's a lovely little piece.  I think it's better than Vaughan Williams' piece on the same melody, and that's the opinion of a full-blown RVW freak!